SAMUEL ADAMS OCTOBERFEST


Now that was a good game, Arizona almost took it home, but the Steelers did just that with that last touchdown catch. Anyway, I didn’t get a chance to post this last night, came home and fell asleep, far too tired to sit at the computer. Once again, I had a break from my normal dinner routine of cooking. Went over to some friends house for the Bowl and they had prepared pulled pork with slaw, Yummy! I did take over Mac and Cheese, it’s homemade, not your box variety. As for the beer, my buddy had a nice stash over at his place, so I dug around and settled on a Samuel Adams Octoberfest. I’m not a huge fan of Sam Adams, but this one I like and you can only get it during the fall obviously, unless of course distributors are over stocked with it. It seemed to go well with the sandwich, but the sandwich did overpower the beer, I could have actually used a more powerful Octoberfest, maybe Flying Dog’s Dogtoberfest. Not sure, we’ll see the next time I have some pork or bar-b-que. IT did go nicely, I believe plenty good for the majority of people, I have picky taste buds, I like strong malts and lots of hops. The beers smooth character lent itself well to the pork, the hints of hops and malts, neither being prominent, blended well with the spicy flavors of the meat and the cole slaw it was topped with. It was a great dinner, especially since I was watching the Super Bowl while eating. Below you’ll find the details about the Mac-n-cheese, the pulled pork recipe I don’t know.

MAC-N-CHEESE
8 oz. Elbow noodles
2 cups milk
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup butter
1/2 lb. grated extra sharp cheddar (white or yellow)
1 tbsp. salt
1/8 tbsp. pepper
Cook noodles following package instructions. Using a medium saucepan on medium heat, melt the butter, once melted blend in the flour, then milk. Add spices and stir, allow sauce to come to a boil and boil for one minute. Add grated cheese and stir. With the noodles in a casserole dish, pour the sauce over the noodles, blending evenly. Place lid on dish and bake on 350ºF for 30 minutes (for a browned top remove lid for last 10-15 mintues of baking).
0 Responses to “SAMUEL ADAMS OCTOBERFEST”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Barleydine

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Categories


