DOGFISH HEAD 60 MINUTE IPA


   Tonight was quite a good time, my parents happen to be leaving for a 3 week Florida tour via their camper, so we all wanted to do dinner together. Given that no one really wanted to cook for 8 plus two toddlers we met up at Ruby Tuesday’s. Now, I haven’t been there in quite some time, but was pretty surprised by the beer selection. My wife had an Old Scratch, which you can see in an earlier posting, and I had a Dogfish Head. Now, I didn’t have the creme de la creme of Dogfish IPA’s (that being the 120 minute IPA) but the 60 minute isn’t bad, I would say it’s more of a pale ale. That may be because how insane the American IPA is getting these days, with IBU’s topping 120. Once I selected my brew, I needed to find dinner, yeah that’s right, beer first, food to match. I settled on the Chicken BLT, not an uncommon sandwich at all, but certainly a tasty one. Amidst a wheat roll, lies a fried chicken plank, with swiss cheese and the accompaniments of the typical BLT. To top it off a dab of garlic mayonaise, which accents the spices in the chicken batter quite well and is banging on fries. This was no greasy fried chicken sandwich, in fact, very little grease at all, the little grease that it had was cut easily by the hops imparted by the 60 min. IPA. Overall great beer, with a nice balance of citrus and floral notes, meshing well with the abundant hop character. There was a very common after taste, with a bite of food and a swig of brew, I am having a hard time putting my thumb on it, but it was a refreshing flavor. It’s nice to see a chain restaurant sell such nice beers, especially even to see a Flying Dog in a North Central PA restaurant. 

1 Response to “DOGFISH HEAD 60 MINUTE IPA”


  1. 1 Captain America 0 at 8:23 am

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after browsing through a few of the posts I
    realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m definitely delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll
    be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!


Leave a Reply

Barleydine

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Categories


