BROOKLYN BLACK OPS STOUT


BEER + FOOD
I had the pleasure of cracking bottle #2 of Brooklyn Black Ops Stout on a beautiful Sunday afternoon. The Wingman and I were in the mood for something barrel-aged and I knew exactly what to grab out of the Barleycellar. Black Ops, Baby!

Some time ago, I found this beer for sale on eBay and immediately bought it. I had no sooner received the first bottle when I purchased another for the cellar. I was going to crack one and leave the other to age. Several months after that, I was on a trip to Beers of the World and found more up there, I had to have another. I tucked that one away nicely in the Barleycellar to age.

One evening after work I had decided to open my first bottle. I made big plans including a fancy meal. You’d think I was on a date. It was a momentous occasion being this beer is from my favorite brewery. I recorded the tasting of the beer and wrote long tasting notes, much longer than usual. It was quite the evening. Fast forward to now, I had to have it again. The Wingman had only listened to me talk about it up to this point, so we decided to get into it.

In my opinion, it’s pretty much Black Chocolate Stout aged in bourbon barrels. That may sound simple enough, but it certainly adds a lot of complexity to the beer. It pours black, motor oil black, with the darkest head I’ve ever seen. The aroma is loaded with malts, coffee, chocolate and bourbon, which all follow straight into the flavor. This is a sipping beer, perhaps after dinner. It did go well with dark chocolate, you want that bitterness that dark chocolate possesses. Those notes in the chocolate linked right up with the bitter espresso and chocolate notes in the beer.

I still have one bottle in the basement, I need a very special occasion to open that guy up. Unless of course, I find myself able to obtain another bottle or two, heck, maybe three or four. It is a must keep in the Barleycellar.

beer + food = Barleydine

1 Response to “BROOKLYN BLACK OPS STOUT”


  1. 1 Does Penis Advantage Work 0 at 9:10 am

    My brother suggested I might like this website. He was entirely
    right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Barleydine

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Categories


