BAR HARBOR TRUE BLUE BLUEBERRY WHEAT

FRUIT ALE | 5.00% ABV

I’ve made many trips to Maine over the past 15 years and recently realized how well known the state is for its blueberries. I’m not sure if my vision in years past was clouded by the rocky coast and over indulging in fresh seafood. Having spent my time hanging from the cliff side while the waves crashed below was how I spent my younger days in land the of lobster. At my older age, I’m content chilling next to the ocean, playing Bocce and sampling local beers. I guess I just lost my nerves.

I recently made my way back from Maine with some fantastic offerings from Bar Harbor Brewing Co. I would say their claim to fame is Cadillac Mountain Stout that found it’s way on the top 100 beers of the world list several years back. That’s quite an accomplishment for such a small brewery with no distribution. There are many other great beers at Bar Harbor Brewing, one being True Blue Blueberry Wheat.

I spent a great deal of time trying to find just the right meal to pair with True Blue. I immediately dismissed any dinner ideas and was moving more towards the desert end of a meal. Finally, the idea came to me one morning as I began prepping to make pancakes for me and my wife. It’s not the first beer I’ve had with breakfast but it was the first fruit style beer for breakfast. I figured the Blueberry flavor would stand in place of the fruit absent in the syrup, which it did just fine. I also thought that the wheat based body wouldn’t be too heavy as to overpower the delicate hot cakes, which worked out perfect. Lastly, there was just enough hop flavor in the beer to balance out the sweetness of the Pure Vermont Maple Syrup. Usually, new pairings don’t work out quite this well, they usually need tweaked. Pancakes and True Blue Blueberry Wheat needs nothing changed at all, try it for yourself.

beer + food = Barleydine

 

0 Responses to “BAR HARBOR TRUE BLUE BLUEBERRY WHEAT”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Barleydine

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Categories


